Robert J. Budnitz elected to National Academy of Engineering

Robert J. Budnitz portrait. Cr. Roy Kaltschmidt, Berkeley Lab., XBD201408-01063-02.tiff

The National Academy of Engineering has elected EESA’s Bob Budnitz as a new member in recognition of his contributions to seismic probabilistic risk assessments and their application to nuclear power facilities. He joins Berkeley Lab researchers Gerbrand Ceder (MSD) and Katherine Yelick (CS) for this honor. Read more…

Read More

LBNL Director’s Awards 2016

The Director’s Awards program recognizes significant achievements of Berkeley Lab employees. Each year, these awards are given for accomplishments, leadership, collaboration, multi-disciplinary science, cross-divisional projects, and commitment to excellence in support of the Lab’s mission and strategic goals. The 2016 recipients of the Director’s Achievement Awards were recognized this month. To see a complete list…

Read More

Susan Hubbard is 2016 Harold Mooney Award Recipient

Susan Hubbard - Associate Lab Director Earth and Environmental Sciences Area. Photo cr. Roy Kaltschmidt. Copyright 2015 Berkeley Lab.

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) has awarded Susan Hubbard its 2016 Harold B. Mooney Award. The Mooney award is given annually to an individual in recognition of scientific and technical excellence and innovation leading to the advancement of near-surface geophysics, and in recognition of long-term, tireless, and enthusiastic support of the near-surface geophysics community through…

Read More

Koven, Riley, and Lawrence receive NERSC 2016 HPC Award

Last week on March 22, the Department of Energy’s National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC) announced the winners of the 2016 High Performance Computing (HPC) Achievement Awards during the annual NERSC Users Group meeting at Berkeley Lab. Congratulations go to Charles Koven and William Riley of the Climate and Ecosystem Sciences Division as well…

Read More

Lauren Beckingham, EFRC Postdoctoral Researcher Winner for 2015

Lauren Beckingham, currently an Assistant Professor at Auburn University in Alabama (formerly a postdoctoral fellow in the Energy Geosciences Division), was selected as one of the Postdoctoral Researcher Winners of the Energy Frontier Research Center’s (EFRC) 2015 Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Researcher Competition. Beckingham was selected as one of 16 finalists from more than 50…

Read More

Pierpaolo Marchesini Receives 2015 Gustavo Sclocchi Thesis Award

Pierpaolo Marchesini, a new postdoctoral fellow in the Energy Geosciences Division (EGD) received the 2015 “Gustavo Sclocchi” Thesis Award in December. The Award is organized by EAGE (European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers), SPE (Society of Petroleum Engineers), and Assomineraria (Italian Petroleum and Mining Industry Association – Hydrocarbon and Geothermal Resources Branch) and is given…

Read More

AGU Honors Memory of Witherspoon with a New Mid-Career Award

This past July, the American Geophysical Union (AGU) Honored the memory of Paul. A. Witherspoon (Earth Sciences Division first Director, 1977-1982), by announcing a new midcareer award, the “Paul A. Witherspoon Mid-career Lecture in Hydrologic Sciences.” The goal is to recognize outstanding contributions in the hydrologic sciences by a midcareer scientist (within 6 to 20…

Read More