Geophysics Department

New Geophysics Department Head: Jonathan Ajo-Franklin

Susan Hubbard, ALD for the Earth and Environmental Sciences Area (EESA), has announced that Jonathan Ajo-Franklin will assume the role of the Department Head for Geophysics, effective June 15, 2017. Jonathan’s research focuses on using geophysical techniques to understand dynamic alterations in subsurface properties of relevance to the environmental and energy sectors. He received his PhD…

Read More

New Projects to Make Geothermal Energy More Economically Attractive

The California Energy Commission’s Electric Program Investment Charge (EPIC) program has awarded Berkeley Lab a total of $2.7 million for two projects that will be led by Energy Geosciences Division scientists, Kurt Nihei and Jonny Rutqvist make geothermal energy more economically attractive.

Read More

Robert J. Budnitz elected to National Academy of Engineering

Robert J. Budnitz portrait. Cr. Roy Kaltschmidt, Berkeley Lab., XBD201408-01063-02.tiff

The National Academy of Engineering has elected EESA’s Bob Budnitz as a new member in recognition of his contributions to seismic probabilistic risk assessments and their application to nuclear power facilities. He joins Berkeley Lab researchers Gerbrand Ceder (MSD) and Katherine Yelick (CS) for this honor. Read more…

Read More

LBNL Director’s Awards 2016

The Director’s Awards program recognizes significant achievements of Berkeley Lab employees. Each year, these awards are given for accomplishments, leadership, collaboration, multi-disciplinary science, cross-divisional projects, and commitment to excellence in support of the Lab’s mission and strategic goals. The 2016 recipients of the Director’s Achievement Awards were recognized this month. To see a complete list…

Read More

EESA Unveils Its 10-Year Research Strategy

The Earth and Environmental Sciences Area (EESA) recently held a townhall (Oct. 31) to preview the upcoming release of its 10-year strategic plan. Deputy Director Horst Simon, as well as Directors from other Lab Areas, joined the full house. Five Grand Challenges have been identified to drive EESA’s research over the coming decade: Earth’s Microbial…

Read More

Susan Hubbard is 2016 Harold Mooney Award Recipient

Susan Hubbard - Associate Lab Director Earth and Environmental Sciences Area. Photo cr. Roy Kaltschmidt. Copyright 2015 Berkeley Lab.

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) has awarded Susan Hubbard its 2016 Harold B. Mooney Award. The Mooney award is given annually to an individual in recognition of scientific and technical excellence and innovation leading to the advancement of near-surface geophysics, and in recognition of long-term, tireless, and enthusiastic support of the near-surface geophysics community through…

Read More

California Energy Commission to fund projects led by Kurt Nihei and Jonny Rutqvist

Image shows progress California is making to using renewable energy for electricity.

The California Energy Commission (CEC) has selected and recommended for funding two proposed projects by researchers Kurt Nihei and Jonny Rutqvist. Their projects will support the CEC’s efforts to meet the State of California’s 2030 climate commitment to use renewable energy resources for half of the state’s electricity by 2030. The state is currently on…

Read More

FY2017 LDRD Awards to EESA Scientists

Site Icon

Congratulations to EESA’s 12 FY2017 LDRD award recipients! LDRDs support high-quality science proposals, especially those that advance new strategic directions for EESA and the Berkeley Lab. Here are this year’s awardees: Lab-wide strategic growth Awards to support Microbes to Biomes    Eoin Brodie—Harnessing the soil microbiome for food and fuel security Javier Ceja Navarro—The Soil Metazoan…

Read More