Climate Sciences

  • Measuring and Modeling the Terrestrial Carbon Cycle

    Scientists operate field observatories and undertake observations and ecosystem manipulation experiments.

    Read More
  • Modeling Climate Change and Climate Change Solutions

    Scientists develop predictive models that reveal the complex processes shaping and controlling the planet.

    Read More
  • Simulating Clouds, Rain, and the Water Cycle

    Knowledge in cloud and convective dynamics are incorporated into DOE’s Earth System Models.

    Read More

Overview

Publications Button
The Climate Sciences Department is the newest Earth and Environmental Sciences Area’s Department, founded in April 2007, and now has more than 100 scientific staff members. Through the Department’s ongoing contributions toward DOE’s strategic mission, and its success in attracting top talent pursuing tightly focused research goals, Berkeley Lab is recognized as one of the U.S. DOE’s National Laboratories (see FY2015 DOE Strategic Plan) with core competency in Climate Change Science.

The Department’s research capabilities lie in three primary areas:

  1. Modeling climate change and climate change solutions
  2. Simulating clouds, rain, and the water cycle
  3. Measuring and modeling the terrestrial carbon cycle.

Core Capabilities

Measuring and Modeling the Terrestrial Carbon Cycle

The Climate Sciences Department has core competency in operating field observatories and undertaking observations and ecosystem manipulation experiments to study soil biogeochemistry, vegetation dynamics, and tropical, boreal, and sub-Arctic ecology. Department members are experienced in the collection and interpretation of eddy covariance measurements, tower and aircraft observations, and isotopic measurements of CO2, CH4, CO, 13C,…

Modeling Climate Change and Climate Change Solutions

Scientists in the Climate Sciences Department are experts in developing predictive models that reveal the complex processes shaping and controlling the planet. Their scientific modeling expertise includes the ability to perform multiscale simulations of abrupt and extreme climate change through development, deployment, and diagnosis of new model frameworks. The Department is actively developing the first…

Simulating Clouds, Rain, and the Water Cycle

Departmental scientists have expertise in cloud and convective dynamics and the ability to incorporate that knowledge into DOE’s Earth System Models. Work includes studies of the energy available for triggering convection, the coupling between convection and its large-scale environment, and the transport of mass, momentum, aerosols, water vapor, and other chemical species in convection.

Rose Abramoff

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-495-8046
rzabramoff@lbl.gov

David Ackerly

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-6341
dackerly@lbl.gov

Sarahi Arriaga Ramirez

Graduate Student Research Assistant

Phone: 510-495-8047
sarriaga@lbl.gov

Dennis Baldocchi

Dennis Baldocchi

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2223
dbaldocchi@lbl.gov

James J. Benedict

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

jjbenedict@lbl.gov

Sebastien Biraud - portrait

Sébastien Biraud

Research Scientist

Climate Sciences Department Head

Phone: 510-486-6084
scbiraud@lbl.gov

James K. Bishop

Senior Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-6110
Fax: 510-486-5686
jkbishop@lbl.gov

Gautam Bisht

Software Developer

Phone: 510-486-6246
Fax: 510-486-5686
gbisht@lbl.gov

Celine Bonfils

Celine J. Bonfils

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4005
cjbonfils@lbl.gov

William Ronald Boos

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2407
wrboos@lbl.gov

Hannah Bourne

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

hbourne@lbl.gov

Xitian Cai

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6546
xtcai@lbl.gov

Cristina Castanha

Principal Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-7500
ccastanha@lbl.gov

Nicholas Cavanaugh

Guest Scientist

Affilitate

Phone: 510-486-4822
nrcavanaugh@lbl.gov

Oriana Elizabeth Holtz Chafe

Research Associate

Phone: 510-495-2223
oechafe@lbl.gov

Jeffrey Chambers

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2932
jchambers@lbl.gov

Wai-Yin Stephen Chan

Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-4194
swchan@lbl.gov

Alexander Charn

Graduate Student Research Assistant

Phone: 510-486-7175
alexandercharn@lbl.gov

John Chun Hong Chiang

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4000
JCChiang@lbl.gov

Danielle Christianson portrait

Danielle S. Christianson

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-4734
dschristianson@lbl.gov

Housen Chu

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

hchu@lbl.gov

William Drew (Bill) Collins

Division Director

Climate & Ecosystem Sciences

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2407
Fax: 510-486-5686
wdcollins@lbl.gov

Xinguang Cui

Senior Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-5928
xcui@lbl.gov

John Bryan Curtis

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-5743
jbcurtis@lbl.gov

William Dailey

Guest Technical Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7789
wdailey@lbl.gov

Sigrid Dengel

Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-4978
Fax: 510-486-5686
sdengel@lbl.gov

Alan V. Di Vittorio

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7798
Fax: 510-486-7897
avdivittorio@lbl.gov

Michael Dietze

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2932
dietze@lbl.gov

Jacob Patrick Edman

Graduate Student Research Assistant

Phone: 805-674-0565
jpedman@lbl.gov

Nicola Falco

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-4703
nicolafalco@lbl.gov

Daniel Feldman

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2171
Fax: 510-486-7775
drfeldman@lbl.gov

Yanlei Feng

Graduate Student Research Assistant

Phone: 510-495-2932
yanleifeng@lbl.gov

Benjamin Fildier

Graduate Student Research Assistant

Phone: 510-356-8626
bfildier@lbl.gov

Xiao Fu

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 617-678-7829
xfu@lbl.gov

Inez Fung

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-9367
ifung@lbl.gov

Katerina Georgiou

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2223
Fax: 510-486-5686
kgeorgiou@lbl.gov

Bardan Ghimire

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-8141
Fax: 510-486-5686
bghimire@lbl.gov

Robert Fraser Grant

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5036
rgrant@lbl.gov

Eric Guilyardi

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2407
eguilyardi@lbl.gov

Donald J. Herman

Guest Technical Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4352
djherman@lbl.gov

Rachel Hollowgrass

Guest Technical Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-673-9932
rhollowgrass@lbl.gov

Jennifer A. Holm

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-8083
Fax: 510-486-5686
jaholm@lbl.gov

Hector Alejandro Inda Diaz

Graduate Student Research Assistant

Phone: 510-495-8047
haindadiaz@lbl.gov

Naomi Intrator

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-642-6110

Meredith Jabis

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 501-486-5813

Kripa Akila Jagannathan

Graduate Student Research Assistant

Phone: 415-335-5834
kajagannathan@lbl.gov

Kolby Jeremiah Jardine

Research Scientist

Phone: 520-603-6096
Fax: 510-486-5686
kjjardine@lbl.gov

Andrew D. Jones

Program Domain Lead for Earth Systems and Society
Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5114
adjones@lbl.gov

Zachary Kayler

Guest General Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2223

Noel Keen

Software Developer

Phone: 510-486-5140
ndkeen@lbl.gov

Trevor Keenan portrait

Trevor Keenan

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5537
Fax: 510-486-5686
trevorkeenan@lbl.gov

Markus Kleber

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2223
mkleber@lbl.gov

Ryan G. Knox

Software Developer

Phone: 510-495-2153
rgknox@lbl.gov

Charles Dunbar Koven

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6724
cdkoven@lbl.gov

Lara Kueppers

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5813
Fax: 510-486-5686
lmkueppers@lbl.gov

Chaincy Kuo

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7939
Fax: 510-486-5686
ckuo@lbl.gov

Phoebe J. Lam

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2457
pjlam@lbl.gov

Wolfgang Langhans

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-7906
Fax: 510-486-7775
wlanghans@lbl.gov

Yizhuang Liu

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-604-2642

Yaqiong Lu

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5813
yaqionglu@lbl.gov

Federico Maggi

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5036
fmaggi@lbl.gov

Ankur Mahesh

Student Assistant

Phone: 510-486-5114
amahesh@lbl.gov

Stefania Mambelli

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2226

Karis J. McFarlane

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2226
kjmcfarlane@lbl.gov

Portrait Zelalem Mekonnen

Zelalem Amdie Mekonnen

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5036
zmekonnen@lbl.gov

Andrew Moyes

Senior Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-4352
abmoyes@lbl.gov

Robinson I. Negron-Juarez

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7690
Fax: 510-486-5686
robinson.inj@lbl.gov

Travis A. O’Brien

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-8047
Fax: 510-486-5686
taobrien@lbl.gov

John Patrick O’Brien

Graduate Student Research Assistant

Phone: 510-495-8047
jpobrien@lbl.gov

Rusen Oktem

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-676-9496
roktem@lbl.gov

Christopher J. Paciorek

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-8047
cjpaciorek@lbl.gov

Christina Marie Patricola

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5983
cmpatricola@lbl.gov

Pascal Polonik

Graduate Student Assistant

Phone: 530-792-8103
ppolonik@lbl.gov

Rachel C. Porras

Senior Research Associate

Phone: 510-495-2226
rcporras@lbl.gov

Thomas Lorin Powell

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5532
Fax: 510-486-5686
tlpowell@lbl.gov

Caitlin Elizabeth Hicks Pries

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-8046
Fax: 510-486-5686
cehpries@lbl.gov

Dianne Quiroz

Guest Technical Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5813
dquiroz@lbl.gov

Naama Raz-Yaseef

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5937
Fax: 510-486-5686
nryaseef@lbl.gov

Robert Rhew

Guest Faculty Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-3579
rrhew@lbl.gov

Alan Rhoades

Hydroclimate Uncertainty Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 530-210-8344
arhoades@lbl.gov

William J. Riley

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5036
Fax: 510-486-7070
wjriley@lbl.gov

Mark Risser

Mark Risser

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Fax: 510-486-5686
mdrisser@lbl.gov

David Romps

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7175
Fax: 510-486-5686
dromps@lbl.gov

Jacob Seeley

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7175
jacobseeley@lbl.gov

Chaopeng Shen

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7286
cshen@lbl.gov

Jennifer L. Soong

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 415-652-4085
jsoong@lbl.gov

Jovan Milan Tadic

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4865
jtadic@lbl.gov

Jinyun Tang

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5792
Fax: 510-486-7070
jinyuntang@lbl.gov

Ben William Timmermans

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5071
bwtimmermans@lbl.gov

Margaret Torn

Margaret S. Torn

Ecologist & Biogeochemist

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2223
Fax: 510-486-7775
mstorn@lbl.gov

Pouya Vahmani

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5128
pvahmani@lbl.gov

Lydia J. Smith Vaughn

Graduate Student Research Associate

Phone: 510-495-2223
lydiajsmith@lbl.gov

Gabrielle A. Weiss

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4104
gaweiss@lbl.gov

Ian N. Williams

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-8048
inwilliams@lbl.gov

Jim Williams

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2407

Xiyan Xu

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6345
Fax: 510-486-5686
xxu@lbl.gov

Zexuan Xu

Zexuan Xu

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5128
zexuanxu@lbl.gov

Yun Xu

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6656
YunXu@lbl.gov

Da Yang

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2407
DaYang@lbl.gov

Qing Zhu

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6546
Fax: 510-486-5686
qzhu@lbl.gov