Ecology

  • Biological Technologies

    Ecology scientists are developing biological technologies that are used for energy, environmental, and health applications.

    Read More
  • Environmental Molecular Microbiology

    Our scientists have applied diverse expertise to studies of the metabolic functioning of bacteria and archaea that mediate processes of environmental relevance.

    Read More

Overview

Publications Button
Scientists in the Ecology Department lead development of new technologies to dissect the microbial diversity of complex ecosystems. Their internationally recognized expertise include scale-aware ecology systems, advanced imaging, physiological diversity of microbes, and plant-microbe interactions.

Technologies:

  • synchrotron imaging of living cells
  • omics approaches, bioprospecting
  • PhyloChip microarrays to measure microbial community dynamics
  • high-throughput microbial isolation
  • phenotypic characterization to measure physiological diversity
  • synchrotron radiation-based FTIR spectromicroscopy

Core Capabilities

Biological Technologies

Ecology Department scientists are experts at developing biological technologies that are used for energy, environmental, and health applications. Our personnel hold key positions in a wide range of biofuel-related projects, which include discovery of fuel-related biosynthetic enzymes and heterologous expression or re-engineering of fuel-related metabolic pathways in bacteria (including cyanobacteria), algae, and plants. Examples of…

Environmental Molecular Microbiology

Ecology Department scientists have applied diverse expertise to studies of the metabolic functioning of bacteria and archaea that mediate processes of environmental relevance, such as (a) aquifer bioremediation of metals and organic contaminants and (b) biogeochemical cycling of carbon and other elements. Department scientists have the expertise to perform field and laboratory studies of complex…

Alexander Benjamin Aaring

Research Assistant

Phone: 510-486-4037
aaaring@lbl.gov

Nilofer Ahsan

Guest Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7072
nahsan@lbl.gov

Lisa Alvarez-Cohen

Mechanical Faculty Scientific Engineer

Phone: 510-643-5969
lalvarez-cohen@lbl.gov

Gary Andersen

Microbial Ecologist

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2795
Fax: 510-486-7152
glandersen@lbl.gov

Abelardo Arellano

Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-7709
aarellano@lbl.gov

James C. Bartholomew

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5808
jcbartholomew@lbl.gov

harry beller

Harry R. Beller

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7321
Fax: 510-486-7152
hrbeller@lbl.gov

Giovanni Birarda

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2658
gbirarda@lbl.gov

Kathleen A. Bjornstad

Staff Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-7094
kabjornstad@lbl.gov

Nicholas J. Bouskill

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7490
Fax: 510-486-5686
njbouskill@lbl.gov

Eoin Brodie

Terrestrial Microbiologist, Senior Scientist

Deputy Director, Climate & Ecosystem Sciences Division

Lead, Environmental & Biological Systems Sciences Program Domain

Phone: 510-486-6584
Fax: 510-486-7152
elbrodie@lbl.gov

Carlo Carraro

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5943

Javier Arturo Ceja Navarro

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7709
jcnavarro@lbl.gov

Romy Chakraborty

Ecology Department Head

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4091
Fax: 510-486-7152
rchakraborty@lbl.gov

Liang Chen

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2658
lchen2@lbl.gov

Yiwei Cheng

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6762
yiweicheng@lbl.gov

Hee Jung Cho

Graduate Student

Phone: 510-486-6584
heejungcho@lbl.gov

John D. Coates

Senior Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-8455
jdcoates@lbl.gov

Sean Larry Collier

Student Assistant

Phone: 510-486-5538
slcollier@lbl.gov

Matthew DiTucci

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5943
mjditucci@lbl.gov

Ahmed H. Dorrah

Guest Student Assistant
Visiting Researcher

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2658
adorrah@lbl.gov

Eric Dubinsky

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5022
eadubinsky@lbl.gov

Gregory Mark Enns

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5943
gmenns@lbl.gov

Mary Firestone

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-3677
mfirestone@lbl.gov

Jil T. Geller

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7321
Fax: 510-486-7079
jtgeller@lbl.gov

Cinta Gomez Silvan

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6901
cgomezsilvan@lbl.gov

Katherine Grue

Guest Technical Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2795
kgrue@lbl.gov

Sonali Hande

Guest Technical Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-575-4364
shande@lbl.gov

Zhao Hao

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-7335
zhao@lbl.gov

Terry C. Hazen

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 707-631-6763
tchazen@lbl.gov

Elizabeth Holman

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5943
eaholman@lbl.gov

Portrait: Hoi-Ying Holman

Hoi-Ying N. Holman

Senior Staff Scientist

Head, Chemical Ecology

Director, Berkeley Synchrotron Infrared Structural Biology (BSISB) Imaging Program

Phone: 510-486-5943
Fax: 510-486-7152
hyholman@lbl.gov

Ping Hu

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-5908
phu@lbl.gov

Ulas Karaoz

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4118
ukaraoz@lbl.gov

Eric King

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6162
eking@lbl.gov

Anthony T. Le

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5335
atle@lbl.gov

Eva Lloret-Sevilla

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-495-2430
elloret-sevilla@lbl.gov

Roya Maboudian

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5943
rmaboudian@lbl.gov

Antoine Masson

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-7094
Fax: 510-486-5686
amasson@lbl.gov

Julia Makani McCreary

Student Assistant

Phone: 510-486-5538
jmmccreary@lbl.gov

Arthur Okhtay Montazeri

Graduate Student

Phone: 510-486-7339
amontazeri@lbl.gov

Stephen Morris

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5943
stephenmorris@lbl.gov

Mari Johanna Nyyssonen

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4118
mjnyyssonen@lbl.gov

Yvette M. Piceno

Guest Technical Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4498
Fax: 510-486-7152
ympiceno@lbl.gov

Leila Ramanculova

Guest Research Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7709
lramanculova@lbl.gov

Timur Seckin

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7709
tseckin@lbl.gov

Whendee L. Silver

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6223
wlsilver@lbl.gov

Patrick Oliver Sorensen

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-4390
posorensen@lbl.gov

Anna Christine Susa

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5943
asusa@lbl.gov

Neslihan Tas

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5538
Fax: 510-486-7152
ntas@lbl.gov

Alexander Thomas

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 925-296-5781
alexanderthomas@lbl.gov

Tamas Torok

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5808
Fax: 510-486-7152
ttorok@lbl.gov

Patricia M. Valdespino Castillo

Biologist Special Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5943
pmvaldespino@lbl.gov

Jana Voriskova

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-4607
jvoriskova@lbl.gov

Shi Wang

Principal Research Associate

Phone: 510-495-2657
shiwang@lbl.gov

Evan R. Williams

Chemist Faculty Scientific Engineer

Phone: 510-643-7161

Xiaoqin Wu

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7515
Fax: 510-486-5686
xiaoqinwu@lbl.gov

Mingqian Xia

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-697-5072
mingqianxia@lbl.gov

Husna Yasini

Student Assistant

Phone: 510-486-4091
HYasini@lbl.gov

Kenneth Charles Zahn

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4436
kczahn@lbl.gov

Jizhong Zhou

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 510-486-6223
jzzhou@lbl.gov