Geochemistry

  • Isotope Geochemistry

    Isotope geochemists develop and use isotopic ratio methods to study fundamental Earth Processes, as well as environmental and energy problems of national interest.

    Read More
  • Reactive Transport

    This effort involves simulation and study of coupled mineral-water-gas reactive transport in unsaturated porous media.

    Read More
  • Molecular and Nano-geochemistry

    This research field studies the fundamental, molecular-scale phenomena that underpin biogeochemical processes in the natural world

    Read More

Overview

Publications Button
The Geochemistry Department’s researchers offer wide-ranging expertise and research interests/activities. Activities address key societal needs, from alternative energy, to environmental stewardship, to deep understanding of fundamental geochemical processes.

Our research work receives support from offices within Department of Energy (Office of Science BER and BES, Fossil Energy, EERE/Geothermal) as well as State of California and several industry partners.

To advance our research, we make use of other DOE resources, such as NERSC, Molecular Foundry, and Advanced Light Source. We also collaborate with several other partners at Berkeley Lab (Computational Research Division, Energy Technologies, Biosciences Area) and UC Berkeley (Earth and Planetary Sciences, and Environmental Science and Policy Management). We welcome opportunities for collaboration on innovative research that would contribute to solving problems faced by the U.S. Department of Energy and society at large.

Core Capabilities

Our six core capabilities are:

  • Environmental Geochemistry
  • Biogeochemical Cycling
  • Molecular and Nanogeochemistry
  • Isotope Geochemistry
  • Reactive Transport
  • High Temperature Geochemistry

 

Biogeochemical Cycling

Our Biogeochemical Cycling scientists have significant expertise in interrogating and quantifying biogeochemical cycles of carbon, metal, and other nutrients, using both field and laboratory experiments. This expertise includes synchrotron-based spectromicroscopic techniques, which are being used to unravel the chemical and physical heterogeneity of natural samples, and quantify ecosystem biogeochemical cycling.

Environmental Geochemistry

This expertise includes synchrotron-based spectromicroscopic techniques, which are being used to unravel the chemical and physical heterogeneity of natural samples and quantify ecosystem biogeochemical cycling.

High Temperature Geochemistry

Our bench-scale studies utilize hydrothermal reactors of various types that permit experiments at temperatures up to 400°C and pressures up to 200MPa.

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope geochemists develop and use isotopic ratio methods to study fundamental earth processes, and environmental and energy problems of national interest. Several Earth and Environmental Sciences Area research programs are supported through the Center for Isotope Geochemistry (CIG).

Molecular and Nanogeochemistry

This research field studies the fundamental, molecular-scale phenomena that underpin biogeochemical processes in the natural world and includes a significant effort addressing the properties and environmental roles of natural nanoparticles.

Reactive Transport

This effort involves simulation and study of coupled mineral-water-gas reactive transport in unsaturated porous media.

Michael A. Antonelli

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7560

Tyler J. Arbour

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-219-1135
tjarbour@lbl.gov

Kelly Archer

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7118
kellyarcher@lbl.gov

Bhavna Arora portrait

Bhavna Arora

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2163
Fax: 510-486-5686
barora@lbl.gov

Jillian Banfield

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-9488
jfbanfield@lbl.gov

Anirban Basu

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6735
abasu@lbl.gov

James Joseph Beisman

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311
jjbeisman@lbl.gov

Amitra Bhattacharyya

Amrita Bhattacharyya

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5335
Fax: 510-486-5686
abhattacharyya@lbl.gov

Markus Bill

Senior Scientific Engineer Associate

Phone: 510-486-5659
Fax: 510-486-5496
mbill@lbl.gov

Kristie A. Boering

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-3472

Nikolas Bokisch

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7056

Ian C. Bourg

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7393
icbourg@lbl.gov

Shaun Tyler Brown

Principal Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-5241
stbrown@lbl.gov

Mary Kay Camarillo

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 209-946-3056
mkcamarillo@lbl.gov

Bo Cao

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311

Aurelie Chagneau

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-7243
achagneau@lbl.gov

Chun-Long Chen

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4739
chunlongchen@lbl.gov

John Neil Christensen

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6735
Fax: 510-486-7152
jnchristensen@lbl.gov

Anna Elizabeth Clinger

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6735
aeclinger@lbl.gov

Mark Conrad

Isotopic Geochemist & Geologist

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6141
Fax: 510-486-5496
msconrad@lbl.gov

Ellen Daugherty

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2748

Damien Daval

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7975
ddaval@lbl.gov

Jim Davis - Earth & Environmental Sciences Area - portrait. Cr. Roy Kaltschmidt, Berkeley Lab

James A. Davis

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2692
Fax: 510-486-5686
jadavis@lbl.gov

Baptiste Dazas

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 609-258-1436

Hang Deng

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-7311
hangdeng@lbl.gov

Don DePaolo

Donald J. DePaolo

Professor and Isotopic Geochemist

Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Sciences

Phone: 510-486-7560
Fax: 510-486-7714
djdepaolo@lbl.gov

Dylan Dibble

Graduate Student

Phone: 510-486-7903
ddibble@lbl.gov

Xin Ding

Principal Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-4975
xinding@lbl.gov

Pat Dobson

Patrick F. Dobson

Geothermal Systems Program Lead

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5373
pfdobson@lbl.gov

Jeremy K. Domen

Research Associate

Phone: 808-754-5812
jkdomen@lbl.gov

Jennifer L. Druhan

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6141
jldruhan@lbl.gov

Dipankar Dwivedi

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-4005
Fax: 510-486-5686
ddwivedi@lbl.gov

Patricia M. Fox

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-495-2037
pmfox@lbl.gov

George A. Frye

Guest Management Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 707-579-9305
gafrye@lbl.gov

Benjamin Gilbert

Discovery Geosciences Program Domain Lead

BES Geochemistry Program Lead

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2748
Fax: 510-486-5686
bgilbert@lbl.gov

Benjamin Lewis Grafius

Research Associate

Phone: 209-483-1992
blgrafius@lbl.gov

Anna-Lena Grauel

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5142
agrauel@lbl.gov

Shelly Gulati

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 209-946-3178
sgulati@lbl.gov

Jeremy Hanlon

Senior Research Technician

Phone: 510-486-6555
jshanlon@lbl.gov

Stefanie Helmrich

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7056
shelmrich@lbl.gov

Michael Holmboe

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7393
mholmboe@lbl.gov

Yandi Hu

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311

Bakytzhan Kallemov

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 917-515-2880
bkallemov@lbl.gov

Masakazu Kanematsu

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 530-400-5375
mkanematsu@lbl.gov

Marco Keiluweit

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2057
mkeiluweit@lbl.gov

C. Brenhin Keller

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2224
cbkeller@lbl.gov

Burton M. Kennedy

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6451
Fax: 510-486-5686
bmkennedy@lbl.gov

Kevin Knauss

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5344
kgknauss@lbl.gov

Karol Kulasinski

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-529-6937
kulasinski@lbl.gov

Laura Nielsen Lammers

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7118
lnlammers@lbl.gov

Namhey Lee

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-7466
nlee@lbl.gov

Qingyun Li

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311
qingyunli@lbl.gov

Marcelo J. Lippmann

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5035
mjlippmann@lbl.gov

Wei-Cheng Lo

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6709

Tryg Lundquist

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4715
tjlundquist@lbl.gov

David M. Mangiante

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-2748
dmmangiante@lbl.gov

Francesco Femi Marafatto

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2748

Alison Marklein

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

alisonmarklein@lbl.gov

Sarick Matzen

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7118
smatzen@lbl.gov

Rolf J. Mehlhorn

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5068
rjmehlhorn@lbl.gov

Martin Mezieres

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7056
mmezieres@lbl.gov

Jennifer V. Mills

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2748
jvmills@lbl.gov

Elizabeth Mitnick

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7560
ehmitnick@lbl.gov

Sergi Molins Rafa

Sergi Molins Rafa

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7540
Fax: 510-486-5686
smolins@lbl.gov

Sumit Mukhopadhyay

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2440
Fax: 510-486-5686
smukhopadhyay@lbl.gov

Niklas Mundhenk

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6623
nmundhenk@lbl.gov

Satish Myneni

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 510-486-4591
smyneni@lbl.gov

Goldie Negelev

Guest Aministrative Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5380

Mariel Nelson

Student Assistant

Phone: 510-486-6141
marielnelson@lbl.gov

Rachel Neurath

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7118

Peter S. Nico

Soil and Environmental Biogeochemist;

Staff Scientist;

Resilient Energy, Water and Infrastructure Program Domain Lead

Phone: 510-486-7118
Fax: 510-486-5686
psnico@lbl.gov

Kunihiko Nishiizumi

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4975
knishiizumi@lbl.gov

Thomas L. Owens

Research Associate

Phone: 510-643-5061
tlowens@lbl.gov

Jasquelin Pena

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-9951
jpena@lbl.gov

Natalie Nicole Penado

Student Assistant

Phone: 510-486-7118
npenado@lbl.gov

Pradeep Perera

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-374-9104
Fax: 510-486-5686
pperera@lbl.gov

Nicholas Jon Pester

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6983
Fax: 510-486-5686
njpester@lbl.gov

Ashley Pierce

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6735
apierce@lbl.gov

Liping Qin

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6735
lqin@lbl.gov

Nigel William Trevelyan Quinn

HydroEcological Engineering Advanced Decision Support (HEADS)

Group Leader, Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7056
Fax: 510-486-7152
nwquinn@lbl.gov

Greg H. Rau

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7056

Giuseppe Domenico Saldi

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6856
gdsaldi@lbl.gov

Kathrin Schilling

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6735
kschilling@lbl.gov

Linsey Shariq

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

lshariq@lbl.gov

Drew Lorenz Siler

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6322
dlsiler@lbl.gov

Michael Sitzmann

Graduate Student

Phone: 415-320-9674
msitzmann@lbl.gov

Eric L. Sonnenthal

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5866
Fax: 510-486-5686
elsonnenthal@lbl.gov

Garrison Sposito

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-8297
gsposito@lbl.gov

Nicolas Spycher

Nicolas Spycher

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2388
Fax: 510-486-7897
nspycher@lbl.gov

Carl I. Steefel

Geochemistry Department Head

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7311
Fax: 510-486-5686
cisteefel@lbl.gov

William T. Stringfellow

Director, Ecological Engineering Research Program

Environmental Staff Engineer

Phone: 510-486-7903
Fax: 510-486-7152
wstringfellow@lbl.gov

Korbinian Owen Thalhammer

Student Assistant

Phone: 916-541-0336
KOThalhammer@lbl.gov

Ruth Maria Tinnacher

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-495-8231
rmtinnacher@lbl.gov

Christophe Tournassat

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311
ctournassat@lbl.gov

Charuleka Varadharajan

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-495-8890
Fax: 510-486-5686
cvaradharajan@lbl.gov

Glenn A. Waychunas

Group Leader, Molecular Geochemistry & Nanogeoscience

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2224
Fax: 510-486-5686
gawaychunas@lbl.gov

Bastien Wild

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5344

Erica Woodburn

Postdoctoral Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5711
Fax: 510-486-5686
erwoodburn@lbl.gov

Steve Yabusaki

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311
syabusaki@lbl.gov

Li Yang

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4774
lyang@lbl.gov

Xiu Yuan

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-7684
xiuyuan@lbl.gov

Mengqiang Zhu

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-9120
mzhu@lbl.gov