Geochemistry

Ken WIlliams taking muddy sediment samples beside East River, Colorado. Photo Cr. Carl Steefel, Berkeley Lab.Overview

The Berkeley Lab Geochemistry Department’s scientists offer world-class expertise and wide-ranging research interests/activities in challenges facing the U.S. Department of Energy, the United States, and the world today.  Activities address key societal needs, from contaminant fate and transport, alternative energy, carbon mitigation, to deep understanding of fundamental geochemical processes taking place in the Earth’s Critical Zone.  Particular strengths of the department are reactive transport modeling, isotope geochemistry, molecular and nanogeochemistry, biogeochemical cycling, and water quality-energy issues.

Core Capabilities

Our six core capabilities are:

Biogeochemical Cycling

Our Biogeochemical Cycling scientists interrogate and quantify biogeochemical cycles of carbon, metal, and other nutrients. These studies focus primarily on the Earth's Critical Zone and range in scale from nano- to watershed, making use of Department of Energy Facilities such as the Advanced Light Source at Berkeley Lab.

Te Manaroa hot spring in New Zealand. (Photo credit: Dr. Jen Blank/New Zealand Astrobiology Network).

High Temperature Geochemistry

We conduct bench-scale experiments using hydrothermal reactors with high temperatures up to 400°C and pressures up to 200MPa. We work closely with reactive transport modelers to analyze field-scale geothermal and hydrothermal system behavior.

Shaun Brown works on the Inductively Coupled Plasma Mass Spectrometer at Berkeley Lab.

Isotope Geochemistry

Isotope geochemists use isotopic ratio methods to study fundamental earth processes, and environmental and energy problems of national interest. Several EESA research programs are served by gas source, radiogenic and non-traditional isotope mass spectrometry offered by the Center for Isotope Geochemistry (CIG).

Molecular and Nanogeochemistry

This research field studies the fundamental, molecular-scale phenomena that underpin biogeochemical processes in the natural world and includes a significant effort addressing the properties and environmental roles of natural nanoparticles.

Simulated flow and pH inside a crushed calcite capillary experiment (Molins et al., 2014 Environ. Sci. Technol.)

Reactive Transport

Reactive Transport group specializes in model development and simulation of coupled microbe-mineral-water-gas reactive transport in porous media.

Water coming out of pipes

Water Quality

The Water Quality technical group focuses on deep understanding of the interface between water and the subsurface, the surface, and the atmosphere—and applies the results to solving complex water quality problems.

Michael A. Antonelli

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7560

Tyler J. Arbour

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-219-1135
tjarbour@lbl.gov

Kelly Archer

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7118
kellyarcher@lbl.gov

Bhavna Arora portrait

Bhavna Arora

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2163
Fax: 510-486-5686
barora@lbl.gov

Jillian Banfield

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-9488
jfbanfield@lbl.gov

Anirban Basu

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6735
abasu@lbl.gov

James Joseph Beisman

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311
jjbeisman@lbl.gov

Amitra Bhattacharyya

Amrita Bhattacharyya

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5335
Fax: 510-486-5686
abhattacharyya@lbl.gov

Markus Bill

Senior Scientific Engineer Associate

Phone: 510-486-5659
Fax: 510-486-5496
mbill@lbl.gov

Kristie A. Boering

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-3472

Nikolas Bokisch

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7056

Ian C. Bourg

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7393
icbourg@lbl.gov

Shaun Tyler Brown

Principal Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-5241
stbrown@lbl.gov

Mary Kay Camarillo

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 209-946-3056
mkcamarillo@lbl.gov

Bo Cao

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311

John Neil Christensen

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6735
Fax: 510-486-7152
jnchristensen@lbl.gov

Anna Elizabeth Clinger

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6735
aeclinger@lbl.gov

Mark Conrad

Isotopic Geochemist & Geologist

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6141
Fax: 510-486-5496
msconrad@lbl.gov

Damien Daval

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7975
ddaval@lbl.gov

Baptiste Dazas

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 609-258-1436

Hang Deng

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-7311
hangdeng@lbl.gov

Don DePaolo

Donald J. DePaolo

Professor and Isotopic Geochemist

Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Sciences

Phone: 510-486-7560
Fax: 510-486-7714
djdepaolo@lbl.gov

Xin Ding

Research Associate Principal

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4975
xinding@lbl.gov

Pat Dobson

Patrick F. Dobson

Geothermal Systems Program Lead

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5373
pfdobson@lbl.gov

Jeremy K. Domen

Research Associate

Phone: 808-754-5812
jkdomen@lbl.gov

Wenming Dong

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-7499
wenmingdong@lbl.gov

Jennifer L. Druhan

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6141
jldruhan@lbl.gov

Dipankar Dwivedi

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-4005
Fax: 510-486-5686
ddwivedi@lbl.gov

Patricia M. Fox

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-495-2037
pmfox@lbl.gov

George A. Frye

Guest Management Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 707-579-9305
gafrye@lbl.gov

Benjamin Gilbert

Discovery Geosciences Program Domain Lead

BES Geochemistry Program Lead

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2748
Fax: 510-486-5686
bgilbert@lbl.gov

Benjamin Lewis Grafius

Research Associate

Phone: 209-483-1992
blgrafius@lbl.gov

Anna-Lena Grauel

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5142
agrauel@lbl.gov

Shelly Gulati

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 209-946-3178
sgulati@lbl.gov

Stefanie Helmrich

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7056
shelmrich@lbl.gov

Michael Holmboe

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7393
mholmboe@lbl.gov

Yandi Hu

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311

Bakytzhan Kallemov

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 917-515-2880
bkallemov@lbl.gov

Marco Keiluweit

Guest Graduate Student Research Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2057
mkeiluweit@lbl.gov

C. Brenhin Keller

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2224
cbkeller@lbl.gov

Burton M. Kennedy

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6451
Fax: 510-486-5686
bmkennedy@lbl.gov

Kevin Knauss

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5344
kgknauss@lbl.gov

Karol Kulasinski

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-529-6937
kulasinski@lbl.gov

Laura Nielsen Lammers

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7118
lnlammers@lbl.gov

Qingyun Li

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311
qingyunli@lbl.gov

Marcelo J. Lippmann

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5035
mjlippmann@lbl.gov

Wei-Cheng Lo

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6709

Tryg Lundquist

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4715
tjlundquist@lbl.gov

Alison Marklein

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

alisonmarklein@lbl.gov

Sarick Matzen

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7118
smatzen@lbl.gov

Rolf J. Mehlhorn

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5068
rjmehlhorn@lbl.gov

Jennifer V. Mills

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2748
jvmills@lbl.gov

Elizabeth Mitnick

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7560
ehmitnick@lbl.gov

Sergi Molins Rafa

Sergi Molins Rafa

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7540
Fax: 510-486-5686
smolins@lbl.gov

Sumit Mukhopadhyay

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2440
Fax: 510-486-5686
smukhopadhyay@lbl.gov

Niklas Mundhenk

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6623
nmundhenk@lbl.gov

Satish Myneni

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 510-486-4591
smyneni@lbl.gov

Goldie Negelev

Guest Aministrative Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5380

Rachel Neurath

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7118

Peter S. Nico

Soil and Environmental Biogeochemist;

Staff Scientist;

Resilient Energy, Water and Infrastructure Program Domain Lead

Phone: 510-486-7118
Fax: 510-486-5686
psnico@lbl.gov

Kunihiko Nishiizumi

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4975
knishiizumi@lbl.gov

Thomas L. Owens

Research Associate

Phone: 510-643-5061
tlowens@lbl.gov

Jasquelin Pena

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-9951
jpena@lbl.gov

Natalie Nicole Penado

Student Assistant

Phone: 510-486-7118
npenado@lbl.gov

Pradeep Perera

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-374-9104
Fax: 510-486-5686
pperera@lbl.gov

Luca Peruzzo

Graduate Student Assistant

Phone: 510-486-5266
lperuzzo@lbl.gov

Nicholas Jon Pester

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6983
Fax: 510-486-5686
njpester@lbl.gov

Ashley Pierce

Guest Student Assistant

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6735
apierce@lbl.gov

Liping Qin

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6735
lqin@lbl.gov

Nigel William Trevelyan Quinn

HydroEcological Engineering Advanced Decision Support (HEADS)

Group Leader, Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7056
Fax: 510-486-7152
nwquinn@lbl.gov

Jonathan Raberg

Research Assistant

Phone: 781-879-9186
jraberg@lbl.gov

Greg H. Rau

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7056

Giuseppe Domenico Saldi

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6856
gdsaldi@lbl.gov

Drew Lorenz Siler

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6322
dlsiler@lbl.gov

Michael Sitzmann

Graduate Student Assistant

Phone: 415-320-9674
msitzmann@lbl.gov

Eric L. Sonnenthal

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5866
Fax: 510-486-5686
elsonnenthal@lbl.gov

Garrison Sposito

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-8297
gsposito@lbl.gov

Nicolas Spycher

Nicolas Spycher

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2388
Fax: 510-486-7897
nspycher@lbl.gov

Carl I. Steefel

Geochemistry Department Head

Senior Scientist & Department Head

Phone: 510-486-7311
Fax: 510-486-5686
cisteefel@lbl.gov

William T. Stringfellow

Director, Ecological Engineering Research Program

Environmental Staff Engineer

Phone: 510-486-7903
Fax: 510-486-7152
wstringfellow@lbl.gov

Korbinian Owen Thalhammer

Student Assistant

Phone: 916-541-0336
KOThalhammer@lbl.gov

Ruth Maria Tinnacher

Affiliate

Faculty

Phone: 510-495-8231
rmtinnacher@lbl.gov

Christophe Tournassat

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311
ctournassat@lbl.gov

Charuleka Varadharajan

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-495-8890
Fax: 510-486-5686
cvaradharajan@lbl.gov

Glenn A. Waychunas

Group Leader, Molecular Geochemistry & Nanogeoscience

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2224
Fax: 510-486-5686
gawaychunas@lbl.gov

Kenneth H. Williams

Staff Geological Scientist

Environmental Remediation and Water Resources Program Lead

Phone: 510-701-1089
Fax: 510-486-5686
khwilliams@lbl.gov

Erica Woodburn

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5711
Fax: 510-486-5686
erwoodburn@lbl.gov

Steve Yabusaki

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7311
syabusaki@lbl.gov

Li Yang

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4774
lyang@lbl.gov

Wenbo Yang

Guest Technical Associate

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6141
wenboyang@lbl.gov

Xiu Yuan

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-7684
xiuyuan@lbl.gov

Mengqiang Zhu

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-9120
mzhu@lbl.gov