Center for Isotope Geochemistry

MassSpec-Kennedy-CIG

The Center for Isotope Geochemistry (CIG) is a joint-institution research center, with labs both at LBNL and UC Berkeley. This state-of-the-art analytical facility was established in 1988 to measure the concentrations and isotopic compositions of elements in rocks, minerals, and fluids in the earth’s crust, atmosphere, and oceans. CIG has a community of roughly 25 people—scientists, research lab staff, postdoctoral researchers, graduate students, and administrative/computer support staff. It is directed by Donald J. DePaolo, (Associate Lab Director for Energy Sciences) at Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, and Class of 1951 Professor of Geochemistry, Department of Earth and Planetary Science, UC Berkeley.

Visit Website

Markus Bill

Senior Scientific Engineer Associate

Phone: 510-486-5659
Fax: 510-486-5496
mbill@lbl.gov

Shaun Tyler Brown

Principal Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-5241
stbrown@lbl.gov

John Neil Christensen

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6735
Fax: 510-486-7152
jnchristensen@lbl.gov

Mark Conrad

Isotopic Geochemist & Geologist

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6141
Fax: 510-486-5496
msconrad@lbl.gov

Don DePaolo

Donald J. DePaolo

Professor and Isotopic Geochemist

Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Sciences

Phone: 510-486-7560
Fax: 510-486-7714
djdepaolo@lbl.gov

Burton M. Kennedy

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6451
Fax: 510-486-5686
bmkennedy@lbl.gov

Thomas L. Owens

Research Associate

Phone: 510-643-5061
tlowens@lbl.gov