Our People: Energy Geosciences Division

Jonathan Ajo-Franklin

Geophysics Department Head

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2728
jbajo-franklin@lbl.gov

Melayne Alexander

Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-7903
malexan8@lbl.gov

Bhavna Arora portrait

Bhavna Arora

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2163
Fax: 510-486-5686
barora@lbl.gov

Corinne Elisabeth Bachmann

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-6743
cebachmann@lbl.gov

Sally M. Benson

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7419
smbenson@lbl.gov

Caitlin M. Bernier

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 970-641-3441
cmbernier@lbl.gov

John Henry Beyer

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7419
jhbeyer@lbl.gov

Amitra Bhattacharyya

Amrita Bhattacharyya

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5335
Fax: 510-486-5686
abhattacharyya@lbl.gov

Jens Birkholzer

Energy Geosciences Division Director

Senior Scientist

Hydrogeologist

Phone: 510-486-7134
Fax: 510-486-5686
jtbirkholzer@lbl.gov

Laura Blanco Martin

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5456
lblancomartin@lbl.gov

Andrea Borgia

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7945
aborgia@lbl.gov

Sharon E. Borglin

Principal Scientific Research Associate

seborglin@lbl.gov

Shaun Tyler Brown

Principal Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-5241
stbrown@lbl.gov

Robert J. Budnitz portrait. Cr. Roy Kaltschmidt, Berkeley Lab. Photos.lbl.gov, XBD201408-01063-02.tiff

Robert Jay Budnitz

Guest Physicist Project Scientist/Engineer

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7829
rjbudnitz@lbl.gov

Roland Burgmann

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-9545
rburgmann@lbl.gov

Mary Kay Camarillo

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 209-946-3056
mkcamarillo@lbl.gov

Frederic Cappa

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5432
fcappa@lbl.gov

Chun Chang

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-570-0772
chunchang@lbl.gov

Jinsong Chen

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6842
Fax: 510-486-5686
jchen@lbl.gov

Sung Choi

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 818-425-8823
sungchoi@lbl.gov

John Neil Christensen

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6735
Fax: 510-486-7152
jnchristensen@lbl.gov

Danielle Christianson portrait

Danielle S. Christianson

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-4734
dschristianson@lbl.gov

Abdullah Cihan

Abdullah Cihan

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2997
acihan@lbl.gov

Julien F. Cohen-Waeber

Graduate Student Research Assistant

Phone: 310-488-8975
jfwaeber@lbl.gov

Michael Commer

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6164
Fax: 510-486-5686
mcommer@lbl.gov

Paul Cook

Paul Cook

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-6110
Fax: 510-486-6819
pjcook@lbl.gov

Thomas Daley

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7316
Fax: 510-486-5686
tmdaley@lbl.gov

Joan Damerow

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

JoanDamerow@lbl.gov

Hang Deng

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7311
hangdeng@lbl.gov

Donald J. DePaolo

Graduate Professor of Geochemistry and Senior Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7560
Fax: 510-486-7714
djdepaolo@lbl.gov

William Dietrich

Senior Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-2633
bill@eps.berkeley.edu

Pat Dobson

Patrick F. Dobson

Geothermal Systems Program Lead

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5373
pfdobson@lbl.gov

Jeremy K. Domen

Research Associate

Phone: 808-754-5812
jkdomen@lbl.gov

Wenming Dong

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-7499
wenmingdong@lbl.gov

Shan Dou

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-495-2728
sdou@lbl.gov

Christine Doughty

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6453
Fax: 510-486-5686
cadoughty@lbl.gov

Douglas S. Dreger

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-1719

Dipankar Dwivedi

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4005
Fax: 510-486-5686
ddwivedi@lbl.gov

Ian Ekblaw

Research Assistant

Phone: 510-495-2728
iekblaw@lbl.gov

Boris A. Faybishenko

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4852
bafaybishenko@lbl.gov

Stefan Finsterle

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

safinsterle@lbl.gov

Bill Foxall Portrait

William Foxall

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5082
bfoxall@lbl.gov

Barry M. Freifeld

Mechanical Engineer;

Hydrogeology Department Head

Phone: 510-486-4381
bmfreifeld@lbl.gov

Erika Gasperikova

Erika Gasperikova

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4930
Fax: 510-486-5686
egasperikova@lbl.gov

Benjamin Gilbert

Discovery Geosciences Program Domain Lead

BES Geochemistry Program Lead

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2748
Fax: 510-486-5686
bgilbert@lbl.gov

Steven Glaser

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-1264
sglaser@lbl.gov

Norman E. Goldstein

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6887
negoldstein@lbl.gov

Benjamin Lewis Grafius

Research Associate

Phone: 209-483-1992
blgrafius@lbl.gov

Yves Guglielmi portrait

Yves Guglielmi

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7626
Fax: 510-486-5686
yguglielmi@lbl.gov

Shelly Gulati

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 209-946-3178
sgulati@lbl.gov

Phil Harben

Project Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5082
pharben@lbl.gov

Mengsu Hu

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5154
mengsuhu@lbl.gov

Lawrence J. Hutchings

Project Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7446
Fax: 510-486-5686
ljhutchings@lbl.gov

Pierre Jeanne

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6261
pjeanne@lbl.gov

Boris Jeremic

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7829
bjeremic@lbl.gov

Lane R. Johnson

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-4173
lrjohnson@lbl.gov

Preston Jordan Portrait

Preston D. Jordan

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-6774
pdjordan@lbl.gov

Yoojin Jung

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-7684
yoojinJung@lbl.gov

Kenzi Karasaki

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6759
kkarasaki@lbl.gov

Burton M. Kennedy

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6451
Fax: 510-486-5686
bmkennedy@lbl.gov

Kunhwi Kim

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6976
kunhwikim@lbl.gov

Kevin Knauss

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5344
kgknauss@lbl.gov

Tim Kneafsey

Hydrocarbon Resources Program Head

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4414
Fax: 510-486-5686
tjkneafsey@lbl.gov

Karol Kulasinski

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-529-6937
kulasinski@lbl.gov

Laura Nielsen Lammers

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7118
lnlammers@lbl.gov

Harrison Lisabeth

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-4715
hlisabeth@lbl.gov

Robin D. Lopez

Research Associate

Phone: 510-776-1482
rdlopez@lbl.gov

Taylor Maavara

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6220
tmaavara@lbl.gov

Fadji Zaouna Maina

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5711
fadjimaina@lbl.gov

Ernest L. Majer

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6709
elmajer@lbl.gov

Michael Manga

Faculty Scientist

Phone: (510) 643-8532
mmanga@lbl.gov

Pierpaolo Marchesini-portrait

Pierpaolo Marchesini

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 617-710-6538
Fax: 510-486-5686
pmarchesini@lbl.gov

David McCallen

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7661
dbmccallen@lbl.gov

Mamun Miah

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5647
mmiah@lbl.gov

Paul Alexander Milligan

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-6742
pamilligan@lbl.gov

Sergi Molins Rafa

Sergi Molins Rafa

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7540
Fax: 510-486-5686
smolins@lbl.gov

Alejandro Morales

Mechanical Engineering Technician

Phone: 510-486-5967
armorales@lbl.gov

George J. Moridis

Geological Senior Scientist

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 510-486-4746
Fax: 510-486-5686
gjmoridis@lbl.gov

Huntly F. Morrison

Senior Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5080
hfmorrison@lbl.gov

Satish Myneni

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 510-486-4591
smyneni@lbl.gov

Seiji Nakagawa

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7894
Fax: 510-486-5686
snakagawa@lbl.gov

Gregory A. Newman

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6887
Fax: 510-486-5686
ganewman@lbl.gov

Peter S. Nico

Soil and Environmental Biogeochemist;

Staff Scientist;

Resilient Energy, Water and Infrastructure Program Domain Lead

Phone: 510-486-7118
Fax: 510-486-5686
psnico@lbl.gov

Kurt Toshimi Nihei

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7945
ktnihei@lbl.gov

Curtis M. Oldenburg

Energy Resources Program Domain Lead
Geologic Carbon Sequestration Program Lead

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7419
Fax: 510-486-5686
cmoldenburg@lbl.gov

Thomas L. Owens

Research Associate

Phone: 510-643-5061
tlowens@lbl.gov

Lehua Pan

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2360
Fax: 510-486-5686
lpan@lbl.gov

Pradeep Perera

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-374-9104
Fax: 510-486-5686
pperera@lbl.gov

Luca Peruzzo

Graduate Student Assistant

Phone: 510-486-5266
lperuzzo@lbl.gov

Nicholas Jon Pester

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6983
Fax: 510-486-5686
njpester@lbl.gov

Floriana Petrone

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7961
Fax: 510-486-5686
florianapetrone@lbl.gov

Petr Vitalievich Petrov

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-6596
pvpetrov@lbl.gov

Steven R. Pride

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2823
Fax: 510-486-5686
srpride@lbl.gov

Alejandro Francisco Queiruga

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5719
afqueiruga@lbl.gov

Jonathan Raberg

Research Assistant

Phone: 781-879-9186
jraberg@lbl.gov

Clayton J. Radke

Faculty Scientist/Engineer

Phone: 510-642-5204
clradke@lbl.gov

Matthew T. Reagan

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6517
Fax: 510-486-5686
mtreagan@lbl.gov

James W. Rector

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-7820
jwrector@lbl.gov

Antonio Pio Rinaldi

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6525
aprinaldi@lbl.gov

Michelle Robertson

Program Manager

Phone: 510-486-5096
mcrobertson@lbl.gov

Barbara A. Romanowicz

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-5690

Jonny Rutqvist

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5432
Fax: 510-486-5686
jrutqvist@lbl.gov

Seth Saltiel

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-495-2728
ssaltiel@lbl.gov

Martin Schoenball

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6658
schoenball@lbl.gov

Drew Lorenz Siler

Guest Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6322
dlsiler@lbl.gov

Maegen B. Simmonds

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-7118
mbsimmonds@lbl.gov

Nicholas Sitar

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5206
nsitar@lbl.gov

Jeremy T. Smith

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-5761
jtsmith@lbl.gov

Eric L. Sonnenthal

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5866
Fax: 510-486-5686
elsonnenthal@lbl.gov

Garrison Sposito

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-8297
gsposito@lbl.gov

Nicolas Spycher

Nicolas Spycher

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2388
Fax: 510-486-7897
nspycher@lbl.gov

Carl I. Steefel

Geochemistry Department Head

Senior Scientist & Department Head

Phone: 510-486-7311
Fax: 510-486-5686
cisteefel@lbl.gov

Daniel Stolper

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-9177
dstolper@berkeley.edu

William T. Stringfellow

Director, Ecological Engineering Research Program

Environmental Staff Engineer

Phone: 510-486-7903
Fax: 510-486-7152
wstringfellow@lbl.gov

Korbinian Owen Thalhammer

Student Assistant

Phone: 916-541-0336
KOThalhammer@lbl.gov

Tetsu K. Tokunaga

Hydrogeochemical Research Lab

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7176
Fax: 510-486-5686
tktokunaga@lbl.gov

Craig Ulrich

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-495-8891
Fax: 510-486-5686
culrich@lbl.gov

Charuleka Varadharajan

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-8890
Fax: 510-486-5686
cvaradharajan@lbl.gov

Donald W. Vasco

Hydrogeophysicist

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5206
Fax: 510-486-5686
dwvasco@lbl.gov

Marco Voltolini

Marco Voltolini

Senior Scientific Engineer Associate

Phone: 510-486-4093
mvoltolini@lbl.gov

Jiamin Wan

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6004
Fax: 510-486-7797
jwan@lbl.gov

Jiannan Wang

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6673
jiannanwang@lbl.gov

Glenn A. Waychunas

Group Leader, Molecular Geochemistry & Nanogeoscience

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2224
Fax: 510-486-5686
gawaychunas@lbl.gov

Michael Wilt

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5430
mwilt@lbl.gov

David Winslow

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 805-657-2928
dcwinslow@lbl.gov

Jenna Wong

Jenna Wong

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 510-486-4926
Fax: 510-486-5686
jbwong@lbl.gov

Erica Woodburn

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5711
Fax: 510-486-5686
erwoodburn@lbl.gov

Hao Xu

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 979-777-9511
haoxu@lbl.gov

Xiu Yuan

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7684
xiuyuan@lbl.gov

Piotr Pawel Zarzycki

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6272
ppzarzycki@lbl.gov

Yingqi Zhang

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2983
Fax: 510-486-5686
yqzhang@lbl.gov

Liange Zheng

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5502
Fax: 510-486-5686
lzheng@lbl.gov

Quanlin Zhou

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5748
Fax: 510-486-5686
qzhou@lbl.gov