Energy Geosciences Division

  • EGD Group Photo

    Our Division

    ...relies on individual contributions, strong partnerships, and teamwork to build scientific and operational excellence.

    Read More
  • Advanced Geophysical Instrumentation

    Our scientists are developing innovative geophysical hardware and methods for subsurface imaging and monitoring with access to the Geosciences Measurement Facility.

    Read More
  • Isotope Geochemistry

    Isotope geochemists develop and use isotopic ratio methods to study fundamental Earth Processes, as well as environmental and energy problems of national interest.

    Read More
  • Reservoir Engineering

    Researchers are studying ways to enhance production of energy from subsurface reservoirs containing methane gas hydrates, geothermal energy, and oil and gas resources.

    Read More
  • Molecular and Nano-geochemistry

    This research field studies the fundamental, molecular-scale phenomena that underpin biogeochemical processes in the natural world

    Read More
  • Rock Physics and Coupled Dynamics

    Research in the laboratory increases our scientists experimental knowledge base for geophysical properties of rocks and sediments that are either not well described by conventional rock physics models or have yet to be fully exploited.

    Read More
  • Contaminant Hydrology

    Researchers are addressing the national and international need for subsurface contaminant characterization and remediation across a spectrum of approaches.

    Read More

Publications buttonThe mission of the Energy Geosciences Division is to create basic and use-inspired knowledge, methods, and capabilities for sustainable utilization and management of the Earth’s subsurface.

EarthIntegrateSystem_EGD
Energy Geosciences Division scientists integrate cutting-edge numerical, observational and experimental approaches in both fundamental and applied research projects

  • to promote safe subsurface disposal of energy by-products such as CO2 or nuclear waste,
  • to enhance subsurface recovery from renewable sources such as geothermal energy
  • to improve efficiency and environmental sustainability of oil and gas production from conventional and unconventional resources,
  • and to develop effective and affordable grid-scale energy storage in the deep subsurface.

An important goal in this context is to solve existing and emerging challenges of sustainability of subsurface energy utilization and important linkages to water, environment, energy infrastructure, and society.

Program Domains

Discovery Geosciences

Researchers in the Discovery Geoscience Program Domain work at the cutting edge of observation, measurement and simulation of fluid-rock processes through the use and development of methods that span the molecular and field scales.

Energy Resources

Scientists in the Energy Resources Program Domain advance the knowledge and technology needed to develop and utilize subsurface systems for clean, secure, cost-effective, and sustainable energy production, energy storage, and disposal of energy-related wastes.

Resilient Energy, Water and Infrastructure

Researchers in the Resilient Energy, Water and Infrastructure Program Domain are developing and applying scientific approaches to solving existing and emerging challenges of sustainability 'and resiliency' of subsurface energy utilization and important linkages to water, environment, energy infrastructure, and society.

Discovery Geosciences

Researchers in the Discovery Geoscience Program Domain work at the cutting edge of observation, measurement and simulation of fluid-rock processes through the use and development of methods that span the molecular and field scales.

Energy Resources

Scientists in the Energy Resources Program Domain advance the knowledge and technology needed to develop and utilize subsurface systems for clean, secure, cost-effective, and sustainable energy production, energy storage, and disposal of energy-related wastes.

Resilient Energy, Water and Infrastructure

Researchers in the Resilient Energy, Water and Infrastructure Program Domain are developing and applying scientific approaches to solving existing and emerging challenges of sustainability 'and resiliency' of subsurface energy utilization and important linkages to water, environment, energy infrastructure, and society.

Jonathan Ajo-Franklin

Geophysics Department Head

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2728
jbajo-franklin@lbl.gov

Bhavna Arora portrait

Bhavna Arora

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2163
Fax: 510-486-5686
barora@lbl.gov

Sally M. Benson

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7419
smbenson@lbl.gov

Caitlin M. Bernier

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 970-641-3441
cmbernier@lbl.gov

James G. Berryman

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5349
jgberryman@lbl.gov

John Henry Beyer

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7419
jhbeyer@lbl.gov

Amitra Bhattacharyya

Amrita Bhattacharyya

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5335
Fax: 510-486-5686
abhattacharyya@lbl.gov

Jens Birkholzer

Energy Geosciences Division Director

Senior Scientist

Hydrogeologist

Phone: 510-486-7134
Fax: 510-486-5686
jtbirkholzer@lbl.gov

Laura Blanco Martin

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5456
lblancomartin@lbl.gov

Sharon E. Borglin

Principal Scientific Research Associate

seborglin@lbl.gov

Shaun Tyler Brown

Principal Research Associate

Phone: 510-486-5241
stbrown@lbl.gov

Robert J. Budnitz portrait. Cr. Roy Kaltschmidt, Berkeley Lab. Photos.lbl.gov, XBD201408-01063-02.tiff

Robert Jay Budnitz

Guest Physicist Project Scientist/Engineer

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7829
rjbudnitz@lbl.gov

Roland Burgmann

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-9545
rburgmann@lbl.gov

Mary Kay Camarillo

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 209-946-3056
mkcamarillo@lbl.gov

Frederic Cappa

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5432
fcappa@lbl.gov

Chun Chang

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-570-0772
chunchang@lbl.gov

Jinsong Chen

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6842
Fax: 510-486-5686
jchen@lbl.gov

Sung Choi

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 818-425-8823
sungchoi@lbl.gov

John Neil Christensen

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6735
Fax: 510-486-7152
jnchristensen@lbl.gov

Abdullah Cihan

Abdullah Cihan

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2997
acihan@lbl.gov

Julien F. Cohen-Waeber

Graduate Student Research Assistant

Phone: 310-488-8975
jfwaeber@lbl.gov

Michael Commer

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6164
Fax: 510-486-5686
mcommer@lbl.gov

Paul Cook

Paul Cook

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-6110
Fax: 510-486-6819
pjcook@lbl.gov

Thomas Daley

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7316
Fax: 510-486-5686
tmdaley@lbl.gov

Joan Damerow

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

JoanDamerow@lbl.gov

Hang Deng

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4537
hangdeng@lbl.gov

Donald J. DePaolo

Graduate Professor of Geochemistry and Senior Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7560
Fax: 510-486-7714
djdepaolo@lbl.gov

William Dietrich

Senior Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-2633
bill@eps.berkeley.edu

Pat Dobson

Patrick F. Dobson

Geothermal Systems Program Lead

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5373
pfdobson@lbl.gov

Jeremy K. Domen

Research Associate

Phone: 808-754-5812
jkdomen@lbl.gov

Wenming Dong

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-7499
wenmingdong@lbl.gov

Christine Doughty

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6453
Fax: 510-486-5686
cadoughty@lbl.gov

Dipankar Dwivedi

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4005
Fax: 510-486-5686
ddwivedi@lbl.gov

Daniel Lee Eldridge

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-495-2748
danieleldridge@lbl.gov

Boris A. Faybishenko

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4852
bafaybishenko@lbl.gov

Stefan Finsterle

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

safinsterle@lbl.gov

Bill Foxall Portrait

William Foxall

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-5082
bfoxall@lbl.gov

Barry M. Freifeld

Mechanical Engineer

Phone: 510-486-4381
bmfreifeld@lbl.gov

Erika Gasperikova

Erika Gasperikova

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4930
Fax: 510-486-5686
egasperikova@lbl.gov

Benjamin Gilbert

Discovery Geosciences Program Domain Lead

BES Geochemistry Program Lead

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2748
Fax: 510-486-5686
bgilbert@lbl.gov

Steven Glaser

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-1264
sglaser@lbl.gov

Norman E. Goldstein

Guest Senior Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6887
negoldstein@lbl.gov

Benjamin Lewis Grafius

Research Associate

Phone: 209-483-1992
blgrafius@lbl.gov

Yves Guglielmi portrait

Yves Guglielmi

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7626
Fax: 510-486-5686
yguglielmi@lbl.gov

Mengsu Hu

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5154
mengsuhu@lbl.gov

Lawrence J. Hutchings

Project Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-7446
Fax: 510-486-5686
ljhutchings@lbl.gov

Pierre Jeanne

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6261
pjeanne@lbl.gov

Boris Jeremic

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7829
bjeremic@lbl.gov

Sallie Johnson

Student Assistant

Phone: 510-495-2959
sejohnson@lbl.gov

Preston Jordan Portrait

Preston D. Jordan

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-6774
pdjordan@lbl.gov

Kenzi Karasaki

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6759
kkarasaki@lbl.gov

Burton M. Kennedy

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6451
Fax: 510-486-5686
bmkennedy@lbl.gov

Kunhwi Kim

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6976
kunhwikim@lbl.gov

Kevin Knauss

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 925-667-5674
kgknauss@lbl.gov

Tim Kneafsey

Hydrocarbon Resources Program Lead

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4414
Fax: 510-486-5686
tjkneafsey@lbl.gov

Laura Nielsen Lammers

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7118
lnlammers@lbl.gov

Corinne Elisabeth Layland-Bachmann

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-6743
cebachmann@lbl.gov

Harrison Lisabeth

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-4715
hlisabeth@lbl.gov

Robin D. Lopez

Research Associate

Phone: 510-776-1482
rdlopez@lbl.gov

Taylor Maavara

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6220
tmaavara@lbl.gov

Fadji Zaouna Maina

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5711
fadjimaina@lbl.gov

Ernest L. Majer

Guest Scientist

Affiliate

Phone: 510-486-6709
elmajer@lbl.gov

Michael Manga

Faculty Scientist

Phone: (510) 643-8532
mmanga@lbl.gov

Pierpaolo Marchesini-portrait

Pierpaolo Marchesini

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 617-710-6538
Fax: 510-486-5686
pmarchesini@lbl.gov

David McCallen

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7661
dbmccallen@lbl.gov

Mamun Miah

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5647
mmiah@lbl.gov

Sergi Molins Rafa

Sergi Molins Rafa

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7540
Fax: 510-486-5686
smolins@lbl.gov

Alejandro Morales

Mechanical Engineering Technician

Phone: 510-486-5967
armorales@lbl.gov

George J. Moridis

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-4746
Fax: 510-486-5686
gjmoridis@lbl.gov

Satish Myneni

Visiting Faculty

Phone: 510-486-4591
smyneni@lbl.gov

Seiji Nakagawa

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7894
Fax: 510-486-5686
snakagawa@lbl.gov

Gregory A. Newman

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6887
Fax: 510-486-5686
ganewman@lbl.gov

Edward Nichols

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

enichols@lbl.gov

Peter S. Nico

Soil and Environmental Biogeochemist;

Staff Scientist;

Resilient Energy, Water and Infrastructure Program Domain Lead

Phone: 510-486-7118
Fax: 510-486-5686
psnico@lbl.gov

Kurt Toshimi Nihei

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7945
ktnihei@lbl.gov

Curtis M. Oldenburg

Energy Resources Program Domain Lead
Geologic Carbon Sequestration Program Lead

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7419
Fax: 510-486-5686
cmoldenburg@lbl.gov

Ilhan Ozgen

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-309-3037
iozgen@lbl.gov

Lehua Pan

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2360
Fax: 510-486-5686
lpan@lbl.gov

Floriana Petrone

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7961
Fax: 510-486-5686
florianapetrone@lbl.gov

Petr Vitalievich Petrov

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-6596
pvpetrov@lbl.gov

Steven R. Pride

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2823
Fax: 510-486-5686
srpride@lbl.gov

Alejandro Francisco Queiruga

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5719
afqueiruga@lbl.gov

Clayton J. Radke

Faculty Scientist/Engineer

Phone: 510-642-5204
clradke@lbl.gov

Matthew T. Reagan

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6517
Fax: 510-486-5686
mtreagan@lbl.gov

James W. Rector

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-643-7820
jwrector@lbl.gov

Antonio Pio Rinaldi

Project Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6525
aprinaldi@lbl.gov

Michelle Robertson

Program Manager

Phone: 510-486-5096
mcrobertson@lbl.gov

Emily A. Robles

Student Assistant

Phone: 510-495-8890
emilyarobles@lbl.gov

Jonny Rutqvist

Senior Scientist

Hydrogeology Department Head

Phone: 510-486-5432
Fax: 510-486-5686
jrutqvist@lbl.gov

Martin Schoenball

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6658
schoenball@lbl.gov

Maegen B. Simmonds

Project Scientist

Phone: 707-694-6079
mbsimmonds@lbl.gov

Nicholas Sitar

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5206
nsitar@lbl.gov

Jeremy T. Smith

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-486-5761
jtsmith@lbl.gov

Kenichi Soga

Faculty Scientist

soga@berkeley.edu

Eric L. Sonnenthal

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5866
Fax: 510-486-5686
elsonnenthal@lbl.gov

Garrison Sposito

Guest Faculty

Affiliate

Phone: 510-643-8297
gsposito@lbl.gov

Nicolas Spycher

Nicolas Spycher

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2388
Fax: 510-486-7897
nspycher@lbl.gov

Carl I. Steefel

Geochemistry Department Head

Senior Scientist & Department Head

Phone: 510-486-7311
Fax: 510-486-5686
cisteefel@lbl.gov

Daniel Stolper

Faculty Scientist

Phone: 510-642-9177
dstolper@berkeley.edu

William T. Stringfellow

Director, Ecological Engineering Research Program

Environmental Staff Engineer

Phone: 510-486-7903
Fax: 510-486-7152
wstringfellow@lbl.gov

Nithya Subramanian

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-664-4210
nithya.subramanian@lbl.gov

Tetsu K. Tokunaga

Hydrogeochemical Research Lab

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-7176
Fax: 510-486-5686
tktokunaga@lbl.gov

Craig Ulrich

Senior Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 510-495-8891
Fax: 510-486-5686
culrich@lbl.gov

Charuleka Varadharajan

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-495-8890
Fax: 510-486-5686
cvaradharajan@lbl.gov

Donald W. Vasco

Hydrogeophysicist

Senior Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5206
Fax: 510-486-5686
dwvasco@lbl.gov

Marco Voltolini

Marco Voltolini

Senior Scientific Engineer Associate

Phone: 510-486-4093
mvoltolini@lbl.gov

Jiamin Wan

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6004
Fax: 510-486-7797
jwan@lbl.gov

Jiannan Wang

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-6673
jiannanwang@lbl.gov

Michael Whittaker

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5924
mwhittaker@lbl.gov

Michael Wilt

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5430
mwilt@lbl.gov

David Winslow

Principal Scientific Engineering Associate

Phone: 805-657-2928
dcwinslow@lbl.gov

Erica Woodburn

Research Scientist

Seaborg Research Fellow

Phone: 510-486-5711
Fax: 510-486-5686
erwoodburn@lbl.gov

Hao Xu

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Phone: 979-777-9511
haoxu@lbl.gov

Piotr Pawel Zarzycki

Research Scientist

Phone: 510-486-6272
ppzarzycki@lbl.gov

Yingqi Zhang

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-495-2983
Fax: 510-486-5686
yqzhang@lbl.gov

Liange Zheng

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5502
Fax: 510-486-5686
lzheng@lbl.gov

Quanlin Zhou

Staff Scientist

Phone: 510-486-5748
Fax: 510-486-5686
qzhou@lbl.gov